A few things about detailing that might help someone out.
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on A few things about detailing that might help someone out. within the Detailing Forum forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey guys... i'm a soon to be new owner of a 2012 blue WRX that I am ordering. I LOVE ...

A few things about detailing that might help someone out.

Hey guys... i'm a soon to be new owner of a 2012 blue WRX that I am ordering. I LOVE detailing though... it's just something that is really a hobby for me, as well as work that I do on the side. I have come from 2 Evos (the worst paint possible) a 2010 MS3 and a 370z.

On the 370z I was actually banned from the detailing section because I showed how to detail a car without using products that were WAYYYYY overpriced.

I just thought I would add a few points to maybe help people out.

First off... detailing is an art and i'm not a pro, but I feel I do it well. However, think of more ways NOT to marr your paint instead of ways to clean it up.

What to wash with? Well there are mitts that range from 3.00 all the way to 50.00 or more. The funny part is (and feel free to visit autopia.net) using a grout sponge is what MANY top detailers are using now. Yep, a 1.30 or whatever they cost grout sponge and they work very well! The sponge that is preferred is the Prominent grout sponge.

What kind of soap to use? That is a matter of personal preference, but the slicker the soap, the better it is for washing since it lets your sponge just glide right across your paint. I have never used it, but i've got a friend who is a pro detailer and ONLY using Griots garage car wash. Use 1oz. per gallon of water.