Tiny Rust Colored Spots...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Tiny Rust Colored Spots... within the Detailing Forum forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; So I have little tiny rust colored spots all over my car just like a few other new WRX owners... ...

Tiny Rust Colored Spots...

So I have little tiny rust colored spots all over my car just like a few other new WRX owners... I washed it and then took it to the dealer yesterday hoping to get lucky and say they are aware of the paint defect and repaint my car, but no! The service guy comes out telling me it's from brake dust and random things in the air and they will rub off. I tell him I don't have 2hrs. to sit there and try and rub down my entire car! He tells me there's not much they can do about it and I should go buy a clay bar kit and do it ASAP. WTF?

So now I'm gonna try and clay bar this thing and hopefully that works. I've never done it before though... is it a lengthy process?
    Last edited by Sasquatch; 03-22-2010 at 03:51 AM.
    2009 Subaru WRX (Hatch/Satin White Pearl) (*SOLD!*)

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

My old jeep had them really bad from cheap brake pads it took me about three hours with a power buffer. your arms will hurt after

I told him I highly doubt it's from brake dust b/c there's even spots of it on my hatch! There is no way that is possible. I just watched a video of how claybarring works on Mothers website and it seems pretty simple. Hope that works! Just sucks b/c it's gorgeous out and I'm stuck in work until it's dark outside... guess I'll have to hold off till next week.

Is you car ever near railroad tracks? I know at the dealership I used to work at we would get news cars in all the time with rail dust on them from sitting in rail yards. Pain in the ass to get clean.
    2004 PSM WRX VF39'd and loving it.
    1979 Camaro Z28 383 stroker
    1993 Silverado 6.5 TD "Old Smokey"