I Miss My Rex, but 02 Max is winning me over
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on I Miss My Rex, but 02 Max is winning me over within the Comparison: WRX vs World forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; When i traded my Rex in on the 2002 Sterling Mist Maxima, it seemed like i was an officer handing ...

I Miss My Rex, but 02 Max is winning me over

When i traded my Rex in on the 2002 Sterling Mist Maxima, it seemed like i was an officer handing over his badge and Gun to his lieutenant.

after a day with the maxima on some open roads, i realized i got to keep "the gun". Sure the beam axle rear suspension hates railroad tracks and expansion joints. The tires really arent much better than RE92's. But that 3.5L V6 is downright heroic. Mash the throttle with TCS off any where in first gear, and the maxima marks its territory. Above 60 she reels in pavement quicker than a stock rex.
    Sure, ill get flamed for getting an auto, but out of all the auto cars ive driven, this transmission agrees with my dowshift then go driving philosophy. Press the pedal slightly and the max holds gear, a little bit more and you get silky downshift putting you at 3000rpm or greater. From there you apply more throttle. Id never wish for a tiptronic because the tranny is eager to downshift even for less agressive accelerating. If you mash, youll get double downshifts and wheelspin in lower gears. from 4500rpm to 6500rpm is non stop thrust that compares to Stage1 Rex. Its a great motor, and so civil, its easy to see why its one 10 best engines ever made.

What i miss is security on snowblanketed roads, and great traction in the rain. i also miss the nimble suspension, and small turning radius of the Rex