Maybe my last race - Mustang GT kill
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on Maybe my last race - Mustang GT kill within the Comparison: WRX vs World forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; My last race in my STi. I'm selling my STi. I absoluted love the car, but I just want to ...

Maybe my last race - Mustang GT kill

My last race in my STi.
    I'm selling my STi. I absoluted love the car, but I just want to try something new for a while. I've been driving a WRX or STi for about 4 years.
    My new car is a Black 6 Speed 05 GTO which should be delivered next week.

Well a guy (age 30 or so) in a 03-04 ish Mustang GT (with a few mods) see's me and takes off. I chased after him. He got a real big jump on me and it took me all the way to the middle of 5th gear to catch him (he was pretty fast). As soon as I started to pass him, the light about an 1/8 mile up the road turns red.

So we lined up side by side. I kept looking over at him smiling, because I was going to give him 100% (which I rarely do off the line on the street). The light turns green and I drop the clutch at 5000 rpms. I instantly jumped 2 cars off the launch. I pulled 1 more car in 2nd gear. Then 1 more car in 3 rd gear. At 70mph or so I was at least 4-5 cars in front of him. He wouldn't give up and kept coming. So I went up to about 100mph just to satisfy him. All in all I had about 5-6 cars on him. It was ugly and I loved it.

Also, my STi is basically stock. I running my catted downpipe and catback but thats it. I've taken my Utec and Turboxs mbc off my car. I'm running stock boost.
    The car feels so slow. It really does. I can't believe how much of a difference running
    17 psi boost and the Utec makes.

So I was happy to to beat up on a Mustang GT in my basically stock STi.

I'll give you guys my review of the 05 GTO as soon as I get it. I will also be taking it to the track as soon as I break it in (which shouldn't take long).

2. Remove Advertisements