Friendly highway run w/ a Pontiac

This is a discussion on Friendly highway run w/ a Pontiac within the Comparison: WRX vs World forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; When it comes to American muscle cars, I would say I have very little knowledge about what car is what. ...

Friendly highway run w/ a Pontiac

When it comes to American muscle cars, I would say I have very little knowledge about what car is what. I know the basics and know to steer clear of the z06, ws6, ss camaro... but I don't know what the base cars are capable of.

So I'm driving home after a nice trip to San Diego and theres mild traffic. I see a newer style pontiac trans am (at least thats what I think it was) coming up from behind in a 'sprited' fashion. It's been a nice drive so far but I haven't had any action so I figured this guy may want to run. I had my doubts because I had 2 other passengers in the car and we were already going about 70mph... those are some pretty big disadvantages for my WRX.

Well, traffic clears in front of us and I see him move out from behind me and start to accelerate. I shift down to 4th and punch it... I see him coming but his momentum stops and I start to pull away. I'm pretty surprised by him not gaining and I stop due to traffic ahead. I probably managed to stay about 3 cars ahead up to 110mph... given that I was already 1 car up, I managed to pull another 2 cars on him.

At this point I was thinking maybe he wasn't trying because I didn't expect that outcome. So after driving a few more miles and following this guy traffic clears again but this time I'm behind him. He gets on it again going about 70mph and he starts to pull pretty decently at first but then his momentum stops and I start to pull and pass him up by about 100mph. I let off once I pass him and slow down to get next to him. I finally see that it's a middle aged fella. He looks over w/ a big grin and gives me a wave, I return the gesture and I get back into cruise mode.