SAAB Viggen
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on SAAB Viggen within the Comparison: WRX vs World forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; OK, I'm a SAAB salesman, so today i had to make a run out to Concord MA, so I take ...

SAAB Viggen

OK, I'm a SAAB salesman, so today i had to make a run out to Concord MA, so I take a 2000 Saab Viggen convertible. For those who arent familiar these are 230hp torque stear DEMONS!!! not a whole lot off the line from these cars, but holy hell on the highway they get up and go! Alot more pull then our stock rex's. Rolling on the throttle in fifth gear will give you a little bit of a push back into your seat. Granted these cars arent the best handling, the convertibles, well... they are convertibles, and the hatchbacks have a lot of body shake and what not. But on the higway they get on thier horse pretty well.

For anyone who may be shopping, check out the NEW 9-3 MUCH better car. The WRX is a MUCH better performerand a decent amount less money, but just a different level of car entirely. So if your stock in your rex watch out for the Viggens, Vectors and Aeros on the higway, they can give you a gooood run. Anyone here actually have an encounter with any of these yet?

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

I hear that the new model saabs will have subaru WRX engines and setups. GM is majority shareholders in both Saab and Subarus.

So, in the future there would not be much difference between Saab and Subarus. Of cos, Subs are always the genuine article and Saabs are just Swedish crap.

Got a co-worker who bought a Viggen. I actually went down with him to the dealership to test drive it before he bought it. If I remember correctly it was a 2002 and that was the last year for the Viggen??(not sure about this) You are right the torque stear scared the hell out of me when I stepped on it. I prefer the AWD of the WRX.....