Subaru WRX Forum banner

Best long term daily driver '17 GTI Autobahn or '18 WRX Limited?

• '17 GTI Autobahn

Votes: 5 19.2%
  • '18 WRX Limited

Votes: 21 80.8%

'17 GTI Autobahn or '18 WRX Limited as a long term daily driver for a college student

10K views 34 replies 12 participants last post by  EJ257 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey all! Hoping you guys could help me decide as I've been torn for months. I am a freshman in college and am looking for a daily driver that will last me years, be enjoyable driving on road trips, and of course head turners would be nice. Any quotes on how much these would cost to maintain? Which car would you go for reliability/looks wise? I live in Southern California if that helps, also my commute is all city driving 30 miles round trip. I'll also add that there aren't much curvy roads I could unleash the car on. I'm having such trouble deciding because I love the performance of the WRX, it's trustful brand and reliability, how it looks, it's community, and the wave. Should I just get the "cool" car while I'm young, or opt for the more mature, comfortable GTI?

Additional info: I'm 18 and I'm very fortunate to have my parents buying me a car. I will be paying for gas, half of insurance, and any other thing I'd want to do to the car such as tint. I don't plan on modding the car. I'm mainly concerned on having fast, fun, reliable sports car that would last me after college and beyond. I plan to have over +150K miles on it. My current '94 Protege is creaking at 134k :)

Thank you for reading and thanks in advance for your response. I would love to hear your thoughts so please don't be afraid to reply!