What is it like to own a STI?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This is a discussion on What is it like to own a STI? within the Comparison: WRX vs World forums, part of the Community - Meet other Enthusiasts category; Hello everyone, I am a newbie here that recently signed up as I am seriously interested in purchasing a STI. ...

What is it like to own a STI?

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie here that recently signed up as I am seriously interested in purchasing a STI. (2015) My first and only car is a 1.8T GTI (2000) which I still love and would never sell it to anyone, but I feel like it is time to purchase another vehicle as I recently relocated to CA and I know for sure that my car will not pass a smog test.

When I first purchased the GTI in used condition, (I bought it in 07) I was too naive to research prior to purchasing. (Had I known mk4s are the most troublesome generation ahead of time, I wouldn't have purchased it) I would say I paid for the latter as I ended up replacing the transmission twice (went from automatic to 6 spd as I had to strengthen the weakest link) and countless parts that costed me an arm and a leg simply because it was from german. I have no regret, however, as I learned to work on my car and I am now fairly confident to perform any major maintenance work without much issue.

Although I like my car, I think it's time to experience things my car did not offer -- I would like to buy a vehicle that doesn't require more than the regular maintenance work and have fun with it. I used to autocross, track and I would like to participate in near future once I am settled in CA.

What is it like to own a STI? Subaru's been on my radar for a long time and it is currently one of my top 3 cars to buy. (2015 mustang vs 2009 Cayman S vs 2015 STI) I am well aware that you got to pay to play, so any comments about maintenance cost & reliability is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements