Subaru WRX Forum banner

05' Mustang GT vs. 05' STi

8K views 81 replies 25 participants last post by  Juice33 
#1 ·
Im a newb, and will soon be getting an STi within a week. I was previously looking into getting Mustang GT, but I was hoping it would have been a little faster. I was wondering from yalls perspective, how a Mustang GT would compare against an STi from a straight roll from 20mph - 140mph. Not saying at all that this will happen. I am just trying to get a rough estimate as to where the strongest powerbands come from each car. Thank you.
-John

#4 ·
Blofe said:
I test dr0ve the 05 GT the other day, stock it's wack ...STi would pwn the 05 GT, but 05 GT with pulley upgrade, intake , exhaust + Chip...it would be the other way around ;x
Actually, changing the exhaust really does nothing with these cars. It is mostly a sound thing... a catless X-pipe on the other hand...

The biggest instant bolt on HP increase, (besides a supercharger!) would be to add a CAI AND computer tune. The car is so sensitive to changes that EM is not just desired, it is required, (a CAI will get you a CEL without it). The computer tune will also get rid of that annoying throttle lag.

I didn't really notice any difference with the pulleys...

#5 ·
The new gts are still fast. I almost got one but all they had was convertable and i didnt fit in it so i got a sti.. But the new gts are fast. My brothers about to buy one and put a either kenne bell or whipple on it. 540 whp... haha Buy Buy Mr. Subie

#6 ·
If you really wanted the faster car, you should have gotten an 03-04 SVT Cobra. they will put both the 05 GT and STi to shame in a straight line. Especially from a roll.

#7 ·
Juice33 said:
If you really wanted the faster car, you should have gotten an 03-04 SVT Cobra. they will put both the 05 GT and STi to shame in a straight line. Especially from a roll.
No doubt. He wants an 03 cobra. Or a cobra r. But i dono how a cobra would hold up to a new mustand with a whipple

#10 ·