WRX STI For A Daily
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

This is a discussion on WRX STI For A Daily within the Car Purchasing Forum forums, part of the ClubWRX.net Marketplace category; Hey everyone, I looked in the search box and I don't think I found a thread discussion an STI for ...

WRX STI For A Daily

Hey everyone, I looked in the search box and I don't think I found a thread discussion an STI for a daily.

I am looking to pick up a car in a couple months and have narrowed it down (so far) to a 2011 Subaru WRX STI, or around an 07-08 C6.

Budget is $25,000-30,000.

I drive about 10,000 miles a year.

What is everyone's thoughts on a WRX STI for a daily Reliability wise, and cost of maintaining. I'm a back yard mechanic, so I kinda prefer to change the oil and service stuff myself.

Any opinions are appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

Unless you just have the money to get the STI, id say go with the WRX...especially if it's a daily driver.

You do get more with the STI, tranny, suspension, brakes...but I don't think you could see much benefit for your purpose. You can save a lot of money, which could upgrade the WRX. But by all means, if u can get it then why not. I would

As someone who DDs an STi, I can tell you they work just fine as a DD. In my case, it works great as a dual purpose car. IMO, a much better DD than the C6 because of the versatility. C6 is a great car, better track car, just don't see it working well for most as a DD. At least if you live in a snowy region or need to carry stuff. Maintenance wise, its pretty basic. But since you're buying used, try to find a dealer maintained vehicle. Brakes are going to be more expensive.

Its really about what you need the car to do. Will it be your only vehicle?

Also, paint sucks, windshield will crack if you give it a mean look, interior will rattle, and the carpet is pretty cheap.....but still...I love mine