Thinking about buy a WRX as a daily...
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on Thinking about buy a WRX as a daily... within the Car Purchasing Forum forums, part of the ClubWRX.net Marketplace category; Hello all, this is my first time posting here. I am sure we all get tired of the intro threads ...

Thinking about buy a WRX as a daily...

Hello all, this is my first time posting here.

I am sure we all get tired of the intro threads but I thought I would make myself known. I was a longtime lurker on the forums trying to scramble up whatever information I can about the WRXs, but long story short I am in the market for a fun, spirited daily driver that's reliable and safe. I've got my mind set on an 06+ WRX but if I am able to find a clean 04-05 for a decent price, then I would not decline. Right now I've got two vehicles an 87' 4runner and 96' Cherokee 4x4. The cherokee is my daily right now and as much as I love (and hate) the car, I think it's coming to the point in its life where it just wants to sit and be toyed with on the weekends only lol. The 4runner runs great for a 26 yr old car and honestly has been a great little truck to me but I've got not no need for two off roading SUVS and plus the body/interior needs a bit of work.

Basically, I've looked @ Corollas/Civics (Si's too) and the lot and although both of those cars are safe, I'd like to have a fun daily. I know the early model WRXs had what they call glass trannies, but my brother owns an 03' WRX (stage 2) and it's got about 175k (w/ original tranny & clutch he says) miles on it now and aside from a little oil loss, and center diff issue the car has been relatively reliable to him, and he is not gentle with his cars. I am going to be checking out a few WRXs this week hopefully but I need to know specifically what to look for. If I do buy one, I will of course try to buy an unmolested, stock one. I am looking @ the 04-07 models in particular, so any input or help would be greatly appreciated!