Subaru WRX Forum banner

Feedback on theoretical build 08 WRX Base

1K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  XJman 
#1 ·
I'm no mechanic, but I think I have an OK understanding of this. I have a few places where I'm unsure where to go next, but here's what I'm working with now. What does everyone think?

1: Steering Quickener(I already bought this, not on yet though). I HATE the 16.5:1 ratio
2: Sway Bars - front and back. Oh god the body roll. (Should I skip and go straight to Coilovers? I don't really want to lower it.)
3: Accessport
4: Intake and Turboback exhaust. (Cobb stage 2 tune)
This is where I start to get unsure. I'll probably have to feel it out at this point to decide, but I'm thinking:
a) Coilovers if I have plenty of power, but sloppy feel.
b) Fuel System(Injectors and pump + stage 3)
c) Upgrade the Turbo.

I guess I should mention that this is a DD and that I plan to keep it for ~10+ years.

#3 ·
Everyone's opinion will be different from yours ... It all depends on your budget , and like you said what you're using your vehicle for . I've had my 08 for about 5 months and I have so many different upgraded modifications that I want to do to mine . I also want to use mine as a DD for a couple of years . I would be carful with the upgraded turbo and fuel injectors etc because then you go into more tuning specifications ... Also if your car is under warranty like mine then tuning is prohibited "so they say" ... In other words build your car the way you want .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 ·
Yes, they differ but the general consensus is once it's modified the life is dramatically shortened. The more its modified the worse it is. For instance, I've got 88k on mine and waiting on a compression and leak down test to find if I've toasted it. This is a car with a decent maintenance history, and mild mods.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

#5 ·