My Engine Build Plan

This is a discussion on My Engine Build Plan within the Builds forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hey everyone, some of you might recall that recently my motor failed on me. 2010 STi SE with 24k miles. ...

My Engine Build Plan

Hey everyone, some of you might recall that recently my motor failed on me. 2010 STi SE with 24k miles. Here is the original thread. TL;DR - My ringlands failed. Bad. Cylinder #2's piston is missing the entire side of the ringland (top & bottom). They easily came off after I pulled them out of the motor. Luckily they didn't break apart while in the car. There really wasn't any metal in the oil pan or filter.

Anyway, I've decided my build plan, builder, and tuner. I've been doing a lot of research to plan this out, and I think I have everything. If there's something not listed that I need or should add, please let me know. This is my first build so I may have missed something. I would like to try and keep this under $5k, but hey, you have to pay to play.

I took a 2 1/2 hour drive and dropped my block, heads and crank off at IAG Performance in Maryland on Saturday. After doing a lot of research, they seem to be very reputable, have good turnaround time, and can meet all my needs and exceed them.

My goal is a reliable, durable daily driver, but also makes good power. I'm not aiming to hit 400whp anytime soon, but I will eventually (I read the PSA and links). My car ran 330awhp on R/T Tuning's Mustang Dyno before, with intake, full catless turboback and Cobb Dynotune. I'm not really expecting this build to make over 350awhp, and that's fine...for now

Moving along, here is my proposed build as of now. I plan on reusing my shortblock and crank, but we will know for sure after IAG diagnoses everything.

• Manley Pistons (99.75mm)
    • Manley H-Beam Rods (might do TurboTuff instead)
    • ACL Rod & Main Bearings
    • ARP Head Studs
    • Perrin Air-Oil Separator
    • Air Pump Delete