04 WRX swap to JDM STI

This is a discussion on 04 WRX swap to JDM STI within the Builds forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Hi my name is Sean and I'm new to the forms. I was looking for some help on a build ...

04 WRX swap to JDM STI

Hi my name is Sean and I'm new to the forms. I was looking for some help on a build I'm trying to do and I was told it is pretty easy. I'm looking to take my WRX '04 and swapping it with a JDM STI set up and I need to know what the build list would be to make a proper swap. I want to go with a course stock 2.5 L motor and a six speed transmission. Plus any strap on upgrades I can get, now I understand I need to change the differentials and down to the brakes, my budget is going to be about $10-$12,000. I mean the truth be told if I can't fit this into this budget I'm going to have to go ahead and sell the car and get a brand-new STI instead so I'm just trying to feel it out not, trying to have car payments I'd rather do this build. So anyone I can help me out of any info on this would be greatly appreciated thanks

-Sean

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

You should just sell the '04 and take the money from that plus the $10-12k and buy an STI. It costs far more to do the swap than just buying one, plus you never really end up with an STI. You also won't get any increase in retail value over a your WRX, so that $10-12k is just money down the drain.

Everybody that does this swap just wishes when they got done that they'd sold their car and bought an STI instead.
    Scott
    Past Subies - '11 STI Limited stage 1+ and '04 STi stage 2+
    '13 Wrangler Rubicon - custom front bumper w/12k lb winch & off-road lights, skid plates, diff guards, etc.
    '04 Porsche 911 Turbo GT2 clone 600 HP/TQ
    '77 F-150 heavily modded for off-roading