WRX 2.0 rebuild
+ Reply to Thread

This is a discussion on WRX 2.0 rebuild within the Builds forums, part of the Tech & Modifying & General Repairs category; Ok, I'm not a newbie to rebuilding engines... if they are the V or inline versions. Never rebuilt a flat ...

WRX 2.0 rebuild

Ok, I'm not a newbie to rebuilding engines... if they are the V or inline versions. Never rebuilt a flat 4 and can't imagine it's much different.

My step son spun 2 rod bearings, 1 and 4. Not much for metal shavings throughout that I could see upon initial inspection but that only included the bottom of the pan, and the oil pick up screen.

The engine has not been pulled yet and I still have to look at and/or measure the cylinder walls, pistons, rings, ring clearances, cranks shaft journals, connecting rods, etc.

I know we can reuse headbolts and block through bolts, etc.

So here is my question, assuming I measure and tolerences come back as still within specs, is there anything aside from rod bearings, main bearings, and a complete gasket set that I should consider replacing on this motor?

It has +/-76,000 miles on it. He has limited funds to work with. Again, assuming much without pulling the engine, I can pull it, boil it, turn the crank, get oversized bearings, replace all gaskets, and update the oil pickup for about $800.

Minumum on a shortblock that I've found is about $1650 and that doesn't include a master gasket set for $250ish plus an upgraded pickup for about the same.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance,
    Michael
    Last edited by flewthecoupe; 01-30-2012 at 11:31 AM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    ClubWRX.net
    Advertisements

You might as well get new cylinder rings they love to crack.
    Life is like riding a bicycle in order to keep your balance you must keep moving.

I Support ClubWRX
    I assume that you would also put in a new timing belt, given the mileage and hard driving. Good luck!
    --Ray